Sydney – Chiltern – 23AUG2010

23 08 2010

Howdy.

Shirking electoral shenanigans, I embrace my inner nerd and go birding. Well, I have to come here for uni. Actually, Albury – well Thurgoona is where the uni is, although I don’t rate either place, so I’m writing from Chiltern, Vic. And there’s no embracing my inner nerd – I love it.

Aaaanyway, mostly travel today – around 600km worth. Still managed to pick up 33 birds, inc 9 raptors! Stupid amounts of Black-shouldered Kites around Albury. Makes it tricky to look for the Letter-winged Kite reported here around a month ago – particularly at 110km/h, but anyways.

Probable highlight was Turquoise Parrots at the Honeyeater picnic area at Chiltern – I usually have to go to the nearby Bartley’s Block for that. Was going to go spotlighting for owls tonight, but decided to drink goon instead. WOO.

Uni fires up tomorrow, so birding becomes limited, but stay tuned- the next 8 days should see some gold!

NOTE:
Updates are via phone, so no photos until I get back to Sydney, or hi-jack someones wireless.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

