Hooray for Tasmania

30 10 2011

Hello everyone, it’s been a while! Since I last wrote, I have been on another pelagic, but nothing else interesting. 2 new birds on that trip – white-capped albatross (which I have seen, distantly while sea-watching) and Grey-backed Storm-petrel.

Anyway – I’m currently in Tasmania for 2 weeks, with the main reason being to see Orange-bellied Parrot. I was actually meant to be driving to the airport right now. But they called and the flight is postponed until tomorrow due to a cold front. The current wind at Melaleuca according to the BOM is ~60km/h, so I’m kinda glad that it isn’t going ahead today. Instead we’re heading out to Mt Field NP.

Anyway , yesterday we swung by Richmond, and I’ve added 2 new birds to my Tasmania list, so it can’t be that bad. I also got shat on by a Blackbird, and although that’s meant to bring you luck, it obviously doesn’t apply to luck with the weather!

I’m writing this post on my phone, but I have got my laptop with me, so the next post (probably tonight) will have some pictures, and possibly less typos!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

